football Edit

Bucannon, Furney named to Second team, Long to Honorable Mention

On Monday afternoon, the Pac-12 released their yearly Pac-12 football
awards and all-conference teams but yet Washington State joined just
Colorado as the only teams not to land first team selection.  More
style="font-weight: bold;">
style="font-weight: bold;">Travis
Long, who received All-Pac-12 Second Team honors last season, was
snubbed of a first or second team bid, earning All-Pac-12 Honorable
The Cougars had two players earn All-Pac-12 Second Team honors: safety
Deone Bucannon and place kicker Andrew Furney
Bucannon, who recorded 106 tackles, three tackles-for-loss, including
one sack and four interceptions this season, earned his first
All-Pac-12 honors as a junior.  Furney also had another fantastic
season, connecting on 14-of-20 field goals (70%) and 25-of-26 extra
points and added in an impressive 60-yard field goal against Eastern
Washington - the second longest field goal in school history.
The complete list of Washington State players that earned All-Pac-12
Honorable Mention is: WR Brett Bartolone, OL Elliot
Bosch, RB Teondray Caldwell, LB Cyrus Coen, DL
Xavier Cooper, LB Travis Long, LB Darryl
Monroe, and DB Daniel Simmons.
The Cougars' honorees includes six underclassmen and four freshmen, a
positive sign for a young and transitioning football team.
There were hardly any surprises for the Pac-12 football awards.
The Offensive Player of the Year award went WR Marqise Lee
from USC and the Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year award went to
LB Will Sutton from Arizona State.  On offense, Oregon QB
Marcus Mariota was the Freshman Offensive Player of the Year
and USC DL Leonard Williamswas the Freshman Defensive Player
of the Year.  Stanford head coach David Shaw was named Pac-12
Coach of the Year for the second straight year.
But back to Long, who had a career year for the Cougars.  The
senior, who missed just the Apple Cup with an apparent knee injury,
tallied 61 tackles, 9.5 sacks (79 yards), 13 tackles-for-loss (85
yards), a forced fumble and an interception.  Meanwhile, Oregon LB
Kiko Alonso, earned second team honors despite having fewer tackles for
loss, 8.5 fewer sacks, and passes deflected.  However, the
Cougars' star linebacker played on a team with just one conference win,
rarely getting noticed in a conference with bundles of talent.

The complete assortment of Pac-12
football awards and all-conference teams can be found at Pac-12.com by